Mylisa Henderson Wins Charlie Kelly Award at Annual BruceGreySimcoe Tourism Conference

Mylisa Henderson Wins Charlie Kelly Award at Annual BruceGreySimcoe Tourism Conference
Mylisa Henderson of Scandinave Spa is the winner of this year’s Charlie Kelly Award, presented at the BruceGreySimcoe Regional Tourism Conference at the Georgian Bay Hotel in Collingwood on December 7th.
The award honours the memory of Charlie Kelly, who championed the idea of four-season tourism for Owen Sound.  It embodies his spirit and looks to recognize the person who has helped to grow the tourism industry the most over the last year, through initiative, innovation or by acting as a role model.
Henderson is the co-owner and marketing director of Scandinave Spa Blue Mountain, celebrating its 10th anniversary this year. She is also a linchpin of the Georgian Triangle Tourist Association, helping it grow from a small privately supported local website, guide and map to a major Destination Marketing Organization straddling the boundaries of Simcoe and Grey counties.
Henderson is known for her commitment to both her business and the GTTA. Under her leadership, the tourist association has become a rare example of a functional and growing public-private partnership. Its See & Do guide for South Georgian Bay will be translated into French this year and distributed in Quebec through a partnership with BruceGreySimcoe.
Henderson works tirelessly to support local business and integrates this approach into her own successful business model at the spa, training counter staff to provide referrals to local shops, experiences and restaurants across the region.  She is also member of the The Blue Mountains Economic Development Advisory Committee.
The Charlie Kelly award committee received more than 21 nominations this year for 13 individuals. Past winners include Don Braden, Jeff Carver, Patti Kendall, Jack and Rick Salen, Ashley Miller, Bryan Plumstead, Chris Hughes and Jenny Amy.
Thanks to the support of Bayshore Broadcasting, this award has grown from recognizing tourism champions in Grey and Bruce counties to honouring those in Bruce, Grey and Simcoe counties.
Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
Leave comment Subscribe

= three - two